Award for a doctoral Research Thesis in Contemporary History “Ivano Tognarini”

10 Dicembre 2015
prof. Ivano Tognarini

The Istituto Storico della Resistenza in Toscana, in agreement with the Tognarini family and with the patronage of the Consiglio Regionale della Toscana, intends to establish an award for a doctoral thesis in Contemporary History to honour the memory, the scientific work, and the civic and social commitment of Professor Ivano Tognarini, who served as President of the institute from 2000 until his death in March 2014. Professor of Modern History at the University of Siena, Ivano Tognarini investigated widely also in contemporary Italian history, with a specific focus on antifascism and Resistance movement, world war two and civilian massacres.

This prize is made possible thanks to the support and contribution of Unicoop Tirreno, COOPLAT, Cooperativa Cuore Liburnia Sociale and of the American friends and colleagues of Ivano Tognarini: Diane Wagner, Ron Grossman, Linda Levine, Mark Heyrman, Peter Khan, Betsy Farley, Marlene Spicuzza.

Italian and foreign doctoral researchers in Contemporary History, who have defended their thesis in calendar years 2014, 2015, 2016 (within the expiration of this notice), are eligible for this prize. Their thesis must deal with one or more of the following areas: Italian and European history of fascism and antifascism, the history of World War II and the Resistance in Italy, and the history of Republican Italy.
Research focusing on Tuscany is especially, but not exclusively, welcome.
Applicants who meet the criteria are asked to send a hard-copy application, or else in electric format, to the Istituto Storico della Resistenza in Toscana (via Carducci 5/37 – 50121 or, together with a short curriculum vitae and a digital copy of the doctorate thesis by 29 February 2016. Thesis should be written in Italian, English, French, Spanish and German.
The amount of the prize is €3,500 and it will be awarded, also on an equal footing, with a clearly justified, final decision by a board of examiners made up of qualified university-affiliated scholars of Contemporary History, designated by the Istituto Storico della Resistenza in Toscana.
The awarding of the prize will take place at the seat of the Consiglio Regionale della Toscana within the framework of the celebrations of the 70th anniversary of the Italian Republic.

  • (will not be published)
  • Chi sei?

  • Titolo del tuo contributo*

  • Iscriviti alla newsletter di ToscanaNovecento
  • Puoi usare codice html: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>